Simple Mittens for Baby

14 Nov

I needed warm mittens for my two month old baby – fast! I wanted to use scrap worsted weight yarn I had on hand that would knit up quickly, and I didn’t want to bother with a thumb when my baby wouldn’t use it anyway. But I still wanted a nice mitten cuff and shape. A pattern was born!

I have learned that when making cuffs, it is a good idea to use a needle that is one size smaller than needed for the project’s gauge. The ribbing makes it stretchy, but the smaller needle keeps it snug.

Hands are essentially flat, so a mitten’s decrease should not make a hat shape but rather a sort of pancake shape. This pattern does that! 

(Yarn pictured is I Love This Cotton in Sage Ombre.)

 Simple Mittens for Baby

 By Carrie Richardson (c) 2010

Yarn: Medium 4/Worsted Weight

Gauge: 18 st & 23 rows = 4” on larger needles

Needles: US 7 (4.5 mm) and US 8 (5 mm) DPNs OR size needed to obtain gauge, and US I-9 crochet hook. 

Size: 0-3 mo.

Cuff

Using smaller needles and long-tail technique, cast on 24 sts. Divide evenly among 3 needles, place marker for beginning of round if desired, and join, being careful not to twist the sts. Work 6 rnds in K1, P1 rib.

Hand

Change to larger needles. Work 10 rnds in St st.

Decrease

[K1, k2tog, k6, skp, k1] 2 times.

[K1, k2tog, k4, skp, k1] 2 times.

[K1, k2tog, k4, skp, k1] 2 times.

[K1, k2tog, skp, k1] 2 times.

Cut yarn and thread through remaining sts.

Weave in ends.

Make 2.

Crochet chain about 25 inches long (or length needed to run through the sleeves and across the back of the baby’s jacket) and attach to inside of cuffs.

4 Responses to “Simple Mittens for Baby”

  1. Natasha October 9, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    In the decrease, the 3rd row should read:

    [k1, k2tog, **k2**, skp, k1] 2 times – 12 stitches

  2. jodi palmer March 20, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    How do I get a copy for free?

  3. Makkie August 16, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Very cute! The only decent baby mittens I have found so far. These will be perfect for my nieces and nephews 😀

  4. Mitten Greens July 16, 2019 at 9:34 am #

    This has helped me out a ton! Thank you!

Leave a comment